Week 10: The World is My Runway

5 Mar 17 → ∞

I don’t really pay much attention to the clothes I wear. My closet consists mostly of plain black t-shirts, two pairs of jeans, and about a thousand pairs of the same shorts in different colors. This is the case for two reasons: first, given my size, I don’t have a lot of clothing options to begin with. If your jeans size is 40 inches across the waist, and you wear them with size XXL clothes, and live in the Philippines, the only place you get decent clothes, that sort of fit you, at a student-friendly budget is Old Navy, and they’re not exactly the most fashion-forward. We don’t even Old Navy in my city; I have to drive two hours and pay around two thousand Pesos on gas, toll fees, and parking to visit the nearest one. Second, my mom is my biggest critic.1 There’s a caveat to living with your parents, especially with mine. They’re the kind of people who, no matter how polished you may be, will scrutinize the smallest thing to make sure you’re perfect. It’s a bit difficult to be more experimental about clothing when you’re around that energy.

Since starting #theROYCEproject, however, I’ve been less susceptible to what people think of me. That doesn’t mean that I’ve become disrespectful and reckless, but my self-confidence has grown. I’m continuing to learn what and what not to listen to, and the things that stop me from being myself aren’t worth a single mili-second of my time. For this week (and for the rest of my life, most likely), I stepped out of my shell and put on whatever I thought looked good on me, regardless of what people thought.

I don’t have “blogger shots” of my OOTDs because nobody would take my picture.2 But trust me on this, I had so much fun dressing up. It started with adding a neckerchief on my usual look then later, I paired button-downs with one of my many pairs of shorts. I bought cheap bracelets from H&M and put on as many as I could on my arm. I even wore a kimono without a shirt on at the beach. I was still met with the expected, “what the hell are you wearing?” from my mom and my sisters, but whatever! My clothes made me ~feel good~.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There’s really not much to write about this week, but I wouldn’t have been able to pull this  off without the prior weeks’ challenges, especially the fitness-related ones. I’ve lost enough weight to get down to a size XL, and to a size 36 for bottoms. My forearms have also shrunk to accommodate multiple bracelets, and my pinky finger became thin enough for a costume ring. I guess the real challenge here is to maintain this for as long as I can.

  1. It seems that a lot of my insecurities come from my mother. They do, but that doesn’t mean that I don’t love her.
  2. I’m the family photographer, i.e., nobody can take decent shots of me. Because I take beautiful shots of my family, I get anal on them when they can’t take a nice photo of me, so it’s as if it’s too much to ask for one.

by Royce

Leave a Reply

