Dear Future Royce,

Hello, I’m Royce. Since my 20th Birthday is just around the corner, I decided to give blogging another shot. I used to write about my life behind a fictional character, whose world was more or less free of the flaws that were present in mine. He thrived on school adventures, with quirky friends and unattainable crushes, but since I’ve already graduated, it felt right to let him graduate as well. While it was fun being someone else, it wasn’t sustainable, and more importantly, it wasn’t me.

As I mentioned, I’m turning 20 sooner than you think. In anticipation of that event, I wrote a letter to my future self. I don’t want to admit it, but I was inspired by Kim Kardashian to do this.

Fortunately, I found writing to my future self to be therapeutic, and now I’m sharing it with you.


Dear Future Royce,

Before you turn 30, I want to remind you that you were once 19 years old, and you were patiently waiting to turn 20. I feel very lost at the moment, having no job and still waiting on opportunities six months after graduation, but at the same time, I’m living a comfortable life. I am not in debt, rent is free, and breakfast, lunch, and dinner are always at the table when I’m feeling hungry. In spite of all of these, I am not happy.

I have been rejected by eight companies the 15-year-old us thought would be so easy to work for. I never expected to get this much negative feedback considering all of my achievements in the past year, but I’m still trying to be my best self so you can have the best life.

It is difficult for me to gauge where you are now. I am still making opportunities in your past to make your present colourful. More than anything, I hope I am successful in making those opportunities because I know how much you counted on me to make you who you are today. With this, here are three of my biggest hopes for you:

  • I hope you have not lost your desire, which has never been extinguished by a lack of motivation, to be successful.
  • I hope that you still believe that the best person who will ever love you is yourself.
  • I hope that you’ve gained courage to be yourself, your authentic self.

Whatever life you have now, I am proud of you, except if you’re on drugs or if you’re an alcoholic. Remember that life will almost always never go as you plan, so try to be more open-minded about where you are now because I’m sure that when you look back, you’ll be proud of yourself for making it through everything that went wrong.

Before I end this, I just want to say that I can’t believe you’re 30! I can’t imagine what you look like because when I look in the mirror, I cannot tell what has changed since I was 10 years old. I still see the Royce that I love, and the Royce that is going to take me on the adventure of a lifetime. I can’t wait to meet you. Happy Birthday!

Love always,

19-year-old Royce

P.S. By the time you read this, I am counting on you to have visited every Disney Park in the world, including Shanghai Disney Resort, whose grand opening you should have been at. If not, I am begging you, regardless of your financial standing, to book a vacation to the Disney Park you have never been to after reading this letter. Count it as your 30th Birthday gift for yourself.

by Royce

Leave a Reply

